Employee Cards - Categories

Updated 2 years ago by Christine

  • Unit: Indicate the employee's home unit here
  • Section: Link the employee to a specific section (optional)
  • Cost centre: You can link an employee to a specific cost centre if necessary.
  • Reports to:  You can choose here which administrator will receive a QMail when the employee has sent a leave application.

The setting "Select manager for LA" under Unit Settings → Functionality allows the employee to select who is to receive the notification.  If the employee sends the leave application to "My managers", the notification goes to the manager selected from the drop-down list in the leave application.


If "My managers" is unchecked, notifications and leave applications are sent in the following order:

  • If a manager is defined as report to, only this person will receive notification of the leave application.
  • If no report to is selected in the employee card, the hierarchy below is followed.

If an employee belongs to the Staff role, notifications go to both the manager and managers (section manager, local manager, district manager) in the manager group selected for the section, and if they do not exist: both the manager and managers (manager group) selected for the unit

If an employee belongs to the Staff role, notifications go to both the manager and managers (section manager, local manager, district manager) in the manager group selected for the unit

If an employee belongs to the Local manager role, notifications go to the manager and managers (section manager, local manager, district manager) in the manager group selected for the district, and if they do not exist: to everyone with the Manager role that belongs to the unit, and if that is not defined: to everyone with the Manager role who belongs to the entire customer.

If an employee belongs to the District manager role, notifications go to everyone with the Manager role that belongs to the unit, and if that is not defined: to everyone with the Manager role who belongs to the entire customer.

If a user belongs to the Manager role, notifications go to everyone with the Manager role that belongs to the unit, and if that is not defined: to everyone with the Manager role who belongs to the entire customer.

  • Allow attest of own punches: You can choose whether the employee (as administrator) will be able to approve his/her own times as a manager
  • Passive: Passive means that the person is inactive when it comes to scheduling and with regard to all lists. This may be relevant when people are on parental leave or for summer temps, for example. However, you can activate this at any time.
  • Employed: The term "employed" means the person is currently employed and has access to Quinyx. When employment is terminated, the box is unchecked and the leave date entered. The leave date determines up to which date the employee has access to Quinyx.
  • Auto man: Select to include this employee in automatic staffing (Man Shifts)
  • Ranking: Select a ranking used for automatic staffing of shifts (Man Shifts). The highest Ranked employees are scheduled first.


Switch unit

You need to go to Employees and Employees to move an employee to a different home unit.

  • Open the relevant employee card.
  • Click the Categories tab.
  • Select a new home unit under the Unit drop-down list.
  • Click the Save button. A warning will be displayed:


    What happens at the old unit?

    • The employee's future scheduled shift is unassigned and remains in the schedule.
    • Shifts in schedule templates that are assigned to the employee are unassigned.

  • What happens at the new unit?

    • The employee's agreement is moved to the new unit.
    • The employee's fixed schedules will be moved.

Select Yes to proceed or No to undo.


How Did We Do?