Pause notifications

Updated 3 months ago by Leigh Hutchens

When a shift/task, leave application, and/or absence is created or updated, depending on the settings in Quinyx, the employee may be notified by Qmail message, push notification, or SMS.

How to pause notifications

The pause notification functionality is located in the drop-down below the manager's profile picture in the top menu.

Click Pause notifications, and you'll have the option to decide how long you want to pause notifying employees about selected schedule changes. Options include:

  • 15 minutes
  • 30 minutes
  • 60 minutes

When the time has elapsed, you'll have the chance to continue to pause or resume notifications for another period.

If you want to stop pausing before the time has run out, just click resume at any point.

When you pause notifications, they are only paused for you. Notifications are not paused for other managers.

When notifications are sent out to employees

It's possible to configure when an employee is notified about changes in the schedule (see Unit settings below for more information). Given that the configurations are turned on, the employee will be notified in the following cases:

Shift/task

For shifts and tasks, employees are notified when the following updates occur in a future published period:

  • Add shift/task
  • Change employee
  • Edit time
  • Edit date
  • Delete

Leave applications

For leave applications, employees are notified when the following updates occur in a future published or unpublished period:

  • Approve a leave request
  • Deny a leave request

Absence (note that this is not supported until version 0095)

For absences, employees are notified when the following updates occur in a future published or unpublished period:

  • Add absence
  • Edit time
  • Edit date
  • Delete
If you have access to multiple groups (units/sections), pausing will continue when you switch groups inside the same account.
Logging out and back in won't resume pausing; If you log out and back in within the selected paused time, notifications will still be paused when you log back in again.
Unit settings

Configuration for employee notifications can be found under Unit settings > Messages.

Setting

Description (if turned on)

Notify new shift

Employee is notified when (s)he is assigned to a shift.

Notify employee when shift is deleted

Employee is notified when a shift (s)he is assigned to is deleted.

Notify employee on shift changes

Employee is notified when a shift (s)he is assigned to when time and/or date is changed.


How Did We Do?