Re-rollout logic

Updated 2 months ago by Oscar Combes

The base schedule rollout logic determines what happens when you roll out a base schedule over a time period multiple times.

The logic described in this article only applies if a base schedule is rolled out anew over the same period in Schedule using the same base schedule start week and weekday compared to the first time.

Edits in Base Schedule

If you roll out your base schedule multiple times over the same time period in Schedule but make edits in your base schedule between rollouts, the next rollout will only roll out the edits made in your base schedule.

The above logic does not apply to tasks.

Base schedule re-rollout warning

Quinyx will only show the re-roll out warning message (see image below) if there's an overlap of employees between current roll out and previous.

Example: If you roll out 15 employees the first time, and then one of those 15 employees is rolled out a second time the same or partly the same time period, the warning message is displayed:

Re-rolling out a base schedule with Shift assignment on away unit requires approval 

The re-rollout logic with Shift assignment on away unit requires approval is only applicable IF: 

  1. An employee is shared to more than one unit and has rolled out shifts from a base schedule on an away unit.
  2. The unit setting Shift assignment on away unit requires approval is turned on.

Prior to version 0115, if a user re-rolled out a base schedule empty in order to delete the shifts already rolled out in the schedule, the shifts were not deleted in the schedule. Now, the the shifts will be deleted.

Edits in Schedule

Below follows a list of possible edits that can be made to shifts in Schedule:

  1. Deletion of shift
  2. Editing of shift duration (by editing start and/or end time of shift)
  3. Editing of shift type
  4. Addition, deletion or editing of break
  5. Moving of shift (to other date and/or other start and end time)
  6. Conversion of shift into absence shift
  7. Shift swap with other employee
  8. Un-assigning of shift
  9. Assigning of shift to an employee
    1. Previously un-assigned shifts
    2. Shifts previously assigned to another employee
  10. Moving of shift from one section to another
  11. Change of project to which a shift is assigned
  12. Change of cost centre to which shift is assigned
  13. Change of employee agreement (for the same assignee)
  14. Addition/removal of task to/from a shift
  15. Edit of task on a shift
    1. Change in duration of task
    2. Moving of task (to other date and/or other start and end time)
  16. Addition of a punch to the shift

For points 1), 6) and 16) above, the shifts originating from the first rollout of the base schedule are rolled out anew during a re-rollout. For 1), this also applies if you've first moved a shift to another date or time in Schedule and then deleted it. This will be improved long term.

If you select to delete the underlying shifts as you add an absence over shifts originating from a base schedule, if you later delete that absence and reinstate the shifts, these shifts will have lost its connection to the base schedule. This means that if, after reinstating those shifts, you roll out across the same period, your base schedule will try to roll out those same shifts anew. Note that this only applies to when you've selected to delete the underlying shifts, not when you've selected to unassign or reassign them. This is something we'll improve with time.

For points 2) - 5) and 7) - 15) above, the shifts edited in Schedule originating from the first rollout of the base schedule are not rolled out anew during a re-rollout. This also applies if the shift has been updated both in Schedule and in Base schedule.


How Did We Do?