This is where you add or remove people from a group. A group is defined as the domain, a district, a unit, or a section. A person who belongs to a group in Quinyx is called a member. When you add a member you will select what role the person should have, and from what date that role is active. You can also set an end date in order for that person to be removed from that group on the selected date.
One person can have access to several groups at the same time. When a person has access to several groups, that person can click on the arrow next to the group name (top right corner) to switch between the different groups he/she has access to.
Add a person to a group
- Click on the group you want to add a person to.
- The side panel will open on the right hand side and you will see the current members (and inherited members of the group) and the role that they have:
- Click on add member.
- A list of employees will now load.
- Here you can scroll down to find the employee you’re looking for. You can also search for the employee’s name or badge number:
- Click on the employee’s name.
- Select the role you want the employee to have in this group.
- If the role in this group should have an end date you select that in the date picker.
- Click OK:
That person will now be a member of the selected group with the selected role.
There are two types of members in a group:
- Member: A member of a group is a person that has been added to a specific group.
- Inherited member: If a person is added to a group, the person will become a member of that group, but in addition also an inherited member of all groups below that group in the hierarchical tree. The access rights defined on the role are inherited downwards to all groups where the user has inherited status.
The inherited groups are displayed and you will see a label called "inherited" next to the inherited roles:
Example: Employee A is added to the group unit 1 with the role “Local Manager”. He/she will also then be an inherited member to the groups Section B and Section C with the role “Local Manager”.
Share an employee
In many organizations it's common that you share employees between units. You can access this by going to Group settings. Click on a specific group, and then click on any employee.
You can decide if you want to share the employee to domain, district, or unit. If you share the employee to a district the employee will be shared (inherited) to all units and section within that district. If you share to a unit, the employee will be shared (inherited) to the unit and all sections within that unit.
After you've selected where to share the employee click on share.
You have the option to select whether the sharing should have an end date. If you select an end date, the employee's role on the shared unit will be removed after that date.
Click on share again.
You will now see a blue label named shared next to role name under the group where the employee is shared.
If you want to stop the sharing press the red X next to the shared label.
Good to know:
- When sharing an employee, the employee will always get the role "employee" on the group you share them to.
- The manager that "borrows" someone can then decide if they want to give that employee a higher role on their own unit using the add role functionality.
- You can only share to domain, district, or unit. It's not possible to share to section.
- You need write access on the permission settings to be able to share employees.
- In Classic you can define if it should be possible to share to all units or only to units within the same district as your unit. That setting is also used in Neo so if you have decided that it should only be possible to share within district you will only see your district and the units in it when sharing an employee.