Working with roles and access rights
- Roles and access rights for the web app
- Roles and access rights for the staff portal and Mobile app
Different Quinyx users require access to different function groups of the application. Setting access rights allows you a straightforward way to configure user permissions that reflect the needs of individual users.
Roles and access rights for the web app
Roles and access rights / Roles
A role defines access rights in Quinyx. You can manage the access rights for each role by clicking Edit role, and then give the role one of three options:
Examples of roles include:
- Account owner full access
- HR administrator - TTP
- Attesting manager
Roles and access rights / Levels
Level = What other roles you can see employee details for in the structure.
Example: A level 2 manager can't see a manager in Level 2 or above under People. Level 2 managers are able to see managers in level 3, 4 or over if these managers have access to the same district, unit, or section.
Employees are visible to all managers.
A manager that needs to be scheduled in Quinyx also needs the role Employee in that unit/section where the schedule should be.
Level roles visibility
The list of people you can see logged in as a Level 1 manager is longer than the one I see as Level 3. This is because the Level 3 manager is not able to see the Level 1 manager:
Logged in as Level 1 manager
Logged in as Level 3 manager
Roles and access rights /Organization
The organization is built up by different types. Customer, District, Unit, and Section.
To give access to an employee, you must add them as a member to the “type” they will have access to. They will then also be inherited with the same role to all types directly under the one you add them to.
This means that if you add someone to the district “South” they will be inherited with the same role and access rights to all units and sections in that district:
The inheritance logic regarding the members will give access to a user to all the belonging types in the organization structure.
When you have a role on a unit, you will automatically also have access to any sections on that unit. The role you have on the section will then be inherited from the unit. It works the same way if you have a role that can access a district. All units and sections under that district will then be available for you.
Below is another example showing that a role can have very limited access in the organization:
Roles and access rights / Organization
Which part of the organization you give access to controls what parts you can access, while the role controls what you can do in those parts.
For example, you have a role as attesting manger in North which gives that manager access to the whole district as an inherited member:
Here is another example of showing that a role can have very limited access in the organization:
Roles and access rights to Account settings
To access account settings you need to have the permission for account settings set to “Write access”, and you also need to have a role on the Customer level.
Roles and access rights for the phone app
The access rights for the phone app are managed through the Staff Categories. Everyone will be assigned a Staff Category, even managers, and the Staff Category will control the access rights for the part they are able to access from the employee perspective.
There are also a few access rights in the mobile app that are controlled by the role the manager has been assigned.
Video tutorial - assign roles in Quinyx
Please watch our video tutorial for a step-by-step guide of how to assign roles in Quinyx.
Roles and access rights for the staff portal and Mobile app
Navigate to Account settings > Access rights > Mobile and staff portal permissions. Click Add in the top right corner to add a staff category.
Once it’s been created, click Edit to adjust the permissions in the panel that opens on the right side of your screen.
When the option of the permission only has an open or a closed eye, that means that if the eye is open (the access is on) you can see it in the app and you can use it.
When there are three options, means that if you have the read access you will see but not be able to edit: