Frontline Portal - Create a story

Updated by Victor Jespersen

You can create and use stories to give users a clear view of things I need to know.

Getting Started

You can create a new story by clicking on the + icon in the header.

Choose the Story button within the drop-down view.

You will be given two options once the Story button has been selected. The first option is to give your new story a title. The second option is to make the story private or not. If you select the checkbox and make a story private, the story will only be visible to the recipients and author.

Titles can be edited in the settings.

Cover Image

Add a cover image to make your story stand out in the dashboard. To do this, select the plus icon within the Cover Image field.

Once the plus button has been selected, you will be redirected to a page where you can upload an image. You can either select the blue file icon and select what image to upload or drag and drop the image to this page. Once an image has been selected, you can hit the Save and then the Upload button to add the image as a cover image for your story.

Important

If necessary or useful, you can mark the story as important.

Description

Enter a description. Use this to explain the story in detail. You can format your description, and you can:

  • Change text size and color
  • Add links
  • Insert images
  • Embed videos (from a .mp4 file or from a YouTube/Vimeo link)

Attachments

Add attachments to support your story. You can add most types of files here, but if you add image or multi-page PDF files, the recipients will be able to view these files within the Story without needing to download them.

Category

You can add a category to your story to filter it in the Story dashboard.

Start & End dates

You can set a start and end date for the story.

Pin this Story

Head office teams and field leaders can promote content to ensure key information is consumed by all relevant staff and is always available in a prominent area of the application. Content can be pinned for a particular time period to the top of the user’s Launchpad (homepage). Pinned content will remain on a store/user's homepage even when it has been read by that store/user.

Community Chat

If you'd like the audience to be able to discuss the Story you're sharing, ensure that you enable Community Chat.

Audience

Choose who the story should be shared with. Below are the listed recipient selection methods you can choose from:

  • Specific groups: Selecting using this method allows you to search through your organization for specific groups and add only those groups to your audience.
  • By group type: Selecting using this method allows you to select all groups of the desired type located within and beneath your chosen level in the organization as recipients. For example, it will allow you to select all store groups within a specific region.
  • By Store: This mode operates like "Select by group type", but with a streamlined step: it automatically chooses the tasking group type, taking you straight to the hierarchy for group selection.
  • By role type: Selecting using this method allows you to pick a role type and then pick a group within your organization. This will select all roles of the desired type located within and beneath your chosen level in the organization. For example, it will allow you to select all managers within a specific region.
  • Add from saved audiences: This mode allows you to add recipients from existing saved audience lists. It also adds the recipients without adding associated settings, which means your current settings for your audience is retained.

You'll be able to see at a glance which stores or groups will be able to access this story.

The audience can be edited after it is published if required.

Hint! You don’t have to choose an Audience now. If you leave this empty then you will find this Story in your Drafts for when you’re ready to complete and send.

Send out date/time

Once all necessary attributes of the Story are set, then click on Send now to send the story to the audience selected. 

Hint! You can save as a draft at any time and come back to the Story later.
Hint! If you think you might need to send similar Stories in the future you can save your work as a Template.

Advanced actions in story details

There are some advanced actions you can take within the story's details. These actions differ depending on whether the story has been distributed or not. To access the advanced actions, you can select the icon with three dots in the bottom right corner.

Once the button has been selected, you have three options:

  • Create a copy of the story.
  • Download all uploaded files to the story.
  • Delete the story.

These three options will appear before the story has been distributed. If you select the icon with three dots in the bottom right corner within the details of a story that has been distributed, you will find these three options instead:

  • Create a copy of the story.
  • Archive the story.
  • Notify recipients regarding the story.
Deleted stories will be permanently deleted and can not be reverted.
Archived stories will not be visible in the Story dashboard, but can be viewed through filter settings.


How Did We Do?